Chasing Blue Lagoons – Part 1

I have a thing for blue lagoons

Just a glimpse of such a wonder is never enough. I have to sit….and stare….and marvel…..and breath in her beauty

Each time is the same. I slowly wade knee deep, breathing in perfection all around me, before diving into the intense light azure shallows, my body brushing against the powder white sand glimmering blindingly beneath me. I swim as far as my breath will allow, clearness all around me and a pallet of exotic turquoise ahead of me. 

There are no names for the shades of blue and turquoise I see, each sparkle of sun reflecting a different hue before me. They are clear and bright. Alluring, magical, pristine and golden. Transparent and flawless. Within these waters I feel free with all of these energies around me and hope to breath them in and reflect them back to the world.

I have travelled all over the world in search of them, from the South Pacific to South East Asia (i’ll share these with you later) and now in Western Europe.

But sometimes she finds me

Please excuse the dodgy photo. I haven't worked out how to get a still off my GoPro vids yet! I still think this captures the ridiculous beauty i'm standing in though.....

Here I am, walking across a shallow blue lagoon channel between Antiparos and Fira island just off the north coast. Antiparos was never part of the plan. I had spent a week on Ios and needed to get to Mykonos for a flight. After exploring which boats I could take when and via where, I settled on Paros.

By fate, my mother was on Antiparos, a bus ride and 1/2hour ferry from Paros. She must be a blue lagoon chaser too, for it is her who indulged us on their secret lagoon and an expedition by foot across two islands to a natural mud spring on deserted Diplo Island.

IMG_6698
Please excuse the dodgy photo. I haven’t worked out how to get a still off my GoPro vids yet! I still think this captures the ridiculous beauty i’m standing in though…..
IMG_4292
Today’s appointment at the natural spa on Diplo Island included a full body mud mask and an Aegean salt water soak!

 

 

One thought on “Chasing Blue Lagoons – Part 1

Leave a comment